Being a Carer

Hello everyone! I’m back today with a post about being a carer. I became a carer when I was 19, back in 2012. I never thought I would be able to do a job like that. The human contact, sick, other bodily fluids, the stress, feeding another human being! Surprisingly it’s just something that came naturally to me. I picked it up like it was what I was meant to be doing with my life!

Being a carer is far from easy, it’s stressful, emotional, draining and most of all bloody hard work! I say this but along with all that it’s fun, rewarding and life changing! I wouldn’t be who I am today if I hadn’t become a carer! Every day is different, with new challenges and things to learn whether it’s about people, the war, how the world used to be, illnesses, the way our bodies work and everything in between!

A lot of people get a job as a carer thinking it’s all cups of tea with little old ladies who sit their knitting scarves with curlers in their hair..Anyone who thinks that is wrong, very, very wrong! Being a carer is hard, it’s time-consuming and a full-time commitment. It means giving up your weekends, evenings, lay ins, summers, Christmas, parties etc. and being dedicated to looking after other human beings!

There are days when I want to quit and give up and get a nice little 9-5 office job but I know if I did that I’d be bored, it wouldn’t interest me, I’d go back to being a carer in 6 months at the most! You have either got it in you or you haven’t, it’s as simple as that! I couldn’t imagine doing anything else with my life now.

When you’re a carer you will have good days and bad days, you get stressed, frustrated and sometimes angry, but you have to always remember that you are never as frustrated as someone who can no longer feed themselves or who has to have someone take them to the toilet. Imagine not being able to remember who your own family members are and how upsetting that must be! sometimes I think it’s unfair that good people, healthy people, the smartest people become unable to look after themselves any more, they get dementia and forget their own name.

You have to make the most of the good times for the sake of the individuals you care for because you never know when they might be gone or can only lay in a bed and remember that time you danced around with them and they laughed for the last time. You are told not to become attached to the people you care for, but sometimes that’s a lot harder to do than you would think.

Its like I always say at interviews, being a carer is not just a job, it’s a lifestyle!

Thank you for reading! More of my thoughts and opinions coming soon! Feel free to ask me questions, comment and follow me on all my social media!

Rosie

xx

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close